License Required to Visit CO State Wildlife Areas
Starting July 1, 2020, a new state regulation requires a valid Colorado hunting or fishing license for all visitors to Colorado State Wildlife Areas (SWA) and State Trust Lands (STL) managed by Colorado Parks and Wildlife (CPW).
This includes recreation, hiking, biking, dog walking, picnicking, camping, boating, photography, birdwatching, and wildlife viewing.
Theses state areas are funded by license fees, not tax dollars, and federal matching funds, for the purposes of conservation of wildlife habitats and providing wildlife-related recreation. CPW manages more than 350 SWAs and nearly 240 State Trust Lands.
Just as visitors to Colorado state parks are required to possess a state parks pass, visitors to SWAs and STLs are now required to possess a proper and valid hunting or fishing license.
The penalty for violation of the new regulation is a $100 fine plus $39.50 surcharges for a total of $139.50 and five (5) license suspension points.
The 2020 fees for the lowest cost licenses for residents are:
adult fishing, $35.17
small game, $30.11
combo small-game and fishing, $50.37
Senior citizen fishing, $9.85
Persons between the ages of 18 and 65 will also need a Habitat Stamp when applying for or purchasing a hunting or fishing license.
Habitat stamp, $10.13
Annual licenses are valid for the license year from April 1 through March 31 of the following year.
For families, all family members age 18 or older must have a license. Family members under age 18 who want to hunt or fish must also have a license.
Licenses may be purchased at a CPW office, sporting goods store, or online at buy CPW hunting or fishing license.
Caution: Observe wildlife from a safe distance with binoculars. Supervise children and pets. Check cell phone signal. Carry emergency supplies. Feeding Colorado wildlife is illegal.